I can’t go back to yesterday, I was a different person then

This year, I turn 27.  And what have I got to show for it?  An army of married friends and a subscription to Seventeen Magazine that just won’t die.

If these are the things I was preoccupied with 10 years ago, I've come a long way.

If these are the things I was preoccupied with 10 years ago, I’ve come a long way.

But in all seriousness, lapping the sun one additional time is no longer the daunting phenomenon it was just a few short years ago (OMG guys, I’m turning 23 this year, that’s, like, SOOO OLD!  Cue:  flagrant abuse of the phrase “I’m too old for this shit”).  No, I’m happy to report that in my old age (har, har) I’m not quite as delusional about growing older, and I’m settling into it more comfortably with each passing year.  Growing out of my juvenile self carries with it a lot of perks, including but certainly not limited to:

  1. Feeling more comfortable in my own skin (I’m not perfect, and that’s OK)
  2. Figuring out what’s important versus what’s not (i.e. which relationships, activities, and emotions are worth my time and energy)
  3. Having opinions!  I finally know what I like and what I don’t, and I’m not afraid to say it
  4. Gaining the confidence to fight for what I believe in
  5. Not giving even a minuscule fuck what others think of me (maybe the greatest perk of them all)

I may not have a whole lot figured out yet as far as societal standards are concerned, but I decided long ago not to use traditional metrics of success to measure my own…additionally, having a firm grasp of the fact that worrying accomplishes nothing, I know better than to waste my energy.  Instead, all that energy I’m saving NOT worrying can be spent bettering myself further…learning as much as possible, identifying my weaknesses and less-than-desirable traits and improving upon them, and nurturing the relationships which matter the most.

Cheers to 27!

Pinterest, you so wise.

Pinterest, you so wise.

 

About Leah Davis

Hey! I'm Leah. I'm a solo traveler letting my heart lead me around the world, one country at a time. I've taught English in Thailand, climbed the Sydney Harbor Bridge, gone skydiving in Argentina, and marveled at the ruins at Machu Picchu (twice!). I love maps, strong coffee, good wine and warm climates. For even more travel talk and inspiration, you can follow my adventures on Twitter or Instagram.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

