Summer Reading List – Part I

I may be bound to a physical location for the time being, but that doesn’t mean I can’t still escape to thrilling locations with my imagination.  No backpack required.

My zeal for reading novels for pleasure waxes and wanes rather unpredictably, and for many years I was convinced that the problem was me.  My attention span seemed to rival that of a goldfish and I often found myself abandoning books halfway through or having difficulty even reaching THAT benchmark.

With the most recent revival of my love for literature, I’ve discovered through further trial and error that the problem isn’t actually me, it’s my book choices (which I guess still technically makes me the problem, but let’s not get bogged down in semantics).

As such, I’m adopting a different approach this time around and being very deliberate with my selections–opting for books that have stood the test of time over books with stylish covers; meticulously crafted prose over dialogues peppered with OMGs and LOLs; Nobel Prize winners over New York Times Bestsellers (an accolade that I feel carries little significance anymore–as hilariously parodied in the Family Guy episode “Brian Writes a Bestseller”–it’s in no way a deal-breaker but I now know it doesn’t necessarily guarantee inspired writing).

My current read:



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One chapter down and I am already enthralled.  I’m looking forward to other titles by García Márquez.

Some future reads: BookBoard

Which others deserve to be added to the list?

Follow on Bloglovin

About Leah Davis

Hey! I'm Leah. I'm a solo traveler letting my heart lead me around the world, one country at a time. I've taught English in Thailand, climbed the Sydney Harbor Bridge, gone skydiving in Argentina, and marveled at the ruins at Machu Picchu (twice!). I love maps, strong coffee, good wine and warm climates. For even more travel talk and inspiration, you can follow my adventures on Twitter or Instagram.
This entry was posted in Aspirations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer Reading List – Part I

  1. Jason says:

    The Fault in Our Stars is perfect. Enjoy!

    Aside from it, the books I’ve enjoyed reading most this year have been The Interestings, Sacred Games, Into Thin Air, The Goldfinch, Sacred Games, and Shantaram.

    • Jason says:

      I loved Sacred Games so much I added it to the list twice!

      • LaMochilera says:

        Haha must be good! Thanks for the suggestions…everyone keeps telling me to read Shantaram, I’ll have to remember it this time.

      • Jason says:

        Shantaram is a great book to read while preparing for a trip to or starting to travel in India….or I guess at anytime. I do wish that someone had warned me it takes several hundred pages for the book to pick up though.

        If you read Shantaram and like it, then Sacred Games by Vikram Chandra is a great place to find a second–and in my opinion, even better–dose of Indian mafia entertainment. But its intended audience is notably less international than Shantaram’s, with the book containing much more local vernacular and less explanation of all things Indian that are described, so I would recommend saving that one for when you are on Indian soil, taking everything in and reconnecting with the Indian incarnations you’ve occupied in the past 😉

      • LaMochilera says:

        Ok then, maybe I’ll have to save it for my future trip to India! 🙂

Leave a Reply

