Home State Highlight: The Gorge Amphitheatre

The_gorgeFor most Americans, Memorial Day Weekend marks the official unofficial beginning of summer.  Temperatures might not be at their sweltering peaks just yet, but it’s once again socially acceptable to wear white, and a summertime vibe is definitely pulsing through the air.

For me, last weekend was the start of an even more exciting time of year: festival season!

My home state is pretty gorgeous, and as a native of Central Washington, I have the luxury of living roughly one hour’s drive from one of our country’s most stunning natural concert venues, The Gorge Amphitheatre near George, Washington (didn’t know there was a town called George, Washington?  Now you know).

Situated on a grassy hill overlooking the mighty Columbia River, The Gorge is an ideal place to take in a music festival.  Amazing music with spectacular natural beauty as the backdrop?  Sublime!

Our GORGEous Saturday sunset.

The festival I attended this Memorial Day Weekend was called Sasquatch! and I went with my good friend Daicia from Berkeley, and a massive group of her grad school friends from Portland (where she’s now studying behavioral neuroscience).  The weekend couldn’t have been any better.  We camped, we laughed, we danced, we sunburned, we danced some more.

Sasquatch is still far less commercialized than many festivals, and as such, it welcomes plenty of lesser-known bands and independent artists.  I was familiar with approximately 25% of them before the start of the festival and was introduced to some real gems.  The artists I plan to download ASAP include: The National, Ryan Hemsworth, Austra, Banks, Tycho, and Gesaffelstein.

DSC05172

Incandescence.

DSC05185

Music, sunshine, good people…what more could I ask for??

I love summer, but I love the festivals that come with it even more.  This past weekend renewed my enthusiasm for The Gorge and festival-going in general.  I’m pretty sure if I sell all my [remaining] worldly possessions, I’ll be able to scrounge up the dough to make it to another one…Paradiso in June?  Who’s in??

About Leah Davis

Hey! I'm Leah. I'm a solo traveler letting my heart lead me around the world, one country at a time. I've taught English in Thailand, climbed the Sydney Harbor Bridge, gone skydiving in Argentina, and marveled at the ruins at Machu Picchu (twice!). I love maps, strong coffee, good wine and warm climates. For even more travel talk and inspiration, you can follow my adventures on Twitter or Instagram.
This entry was posted in Home State Highlights and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home State Highlight: The Gorge Amphitheatre

  1. freesadieg says:

    ARCADE FIRE in August!!!!! Let’s do it 😀

    Ps- this last weekend goes down in the history books!!

  2. Pingback: 30 Before 30: The Challenge | The Mochilera Diaries

Leave a Reply

