Emails from Abroad #6

Email to my mom written one week before the end of my one-month TEFL course in Chiang Mai, December 15th, 2011.

“Things here are wonderful.  Have another lesson tomorrow, which will be our 5th out of 7.  Pretty exciting that we have only a week left.  My lesson this morning went pretty well despite having a really awkward classroom situation to deal with, and a chalk board instead of a white board.*  But the Thai kids are just sooo cute.

“In other news, Addy and I went to that little music festival a few weeks ago and actually made friends with a big group of kids who are all English teachers and they invited us to come on this weekend houseboat trip with them to a lake about an hour outside of Chiang Mai.  It just happened to be the full moon weekend too so we made it full moon themed and had an absolute blast.  I dropped my camera though and messed up the lens, so that makes two cameras I’ve now lost to full moon parties.  I did get some pictures before the incident, so I’ll send you some.  The lake was absolutely breathtaking.  I still have my SLR though, didn’t risk taking that to the lake, but I’m actually SO scared of taking it anywhere that I haven’t used it in weeks, which is dumb.”

*Having a hard time remembering why a chalk board was a problem…

Little did we suspect that going to this "little party..."

Little did we suspect that going to this little music festival…

...would lead to meeting all of these amazing people...

…would lead to meeting all of these amazing people…

...and another camera-killing full moon party (worth it).

…and another camera-killing full moon party (worth it).

Follow on Bloglovin

About Leah Davis

Hey! I'm Leah. I'm a solo traveler letting my heart lead me around the world, one country at a time. I've taught English in Thailand, climbed the Sydney Harbor Bridge, gone skydiving in Argentina, and marveled at the ruins at Machu Picchu (twice!). I love maps, strong coffee, good wine and warm climates. For even more travel talk and inspiration, you can follow my adventures on Twitter or Instagram.
This entry was posted in Emails from Abroad and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

