Summer Reading List – Part II

I’ve fallen in love…with a bunch of books.

Our last family trip to Hood Canal just last week for the Fourth of July proved itself fruitful in more ways than one.  In addition to reliving childhood memories of watching fireworks boom over the Sound for hours on end, my lust for literature was once again rekindled upon discovering, or more appropriately, noticing, the extensive library of books my grandparents kept at the house that I’d never appreciated until that very moment.

The books were everywhere!  All the great authors, all the classic stories, overflowing from every bookshelf I could find.  Historical, political, fictional, fantastical.  It was a veritable treasure trove.  How had I never paid attention to these gorgeous hardbacks before?  I could only wonder.

I yanked them greedily off the shelves, thankful for the lack of a WiFi connection and simultaneously discouraged by the fact that I’d only have three days in such a tranquil, distraction-free environment.

The house had just sold, though, so with a little sweet-talking I convinced my family that I’d only take a few, we had to clean the house out anyway, and I’m sure no one else will want these!

They’re now safely in my possession at home, though I’d ordered another book not long before our trip which I had yet to read, so they are still sitting idly, looking gorgeous and sending my heart aflutter at every glance.

IMG_8774I’ve been known at times as the World’s Slowest Reader, so the likelihood of me finishing these books before I head off traveling again is slim, but at the very least I plan to do a thorough skimming of as many as I can.  I’d never risk taking them with me, as they are in such amazing condition and I plan to keep them until that someday many years down the road when I can gift them to children of my own.

IMG_8777

The top book in the photo above is my current read, a recommendation from a friend as well as a title I’ve seen on many lists of Books to Read Before You Die and the like.

IMG_8780My first undertaking once I finish Perfume will likely be For Whom The Bell Tolls, as I just recently read my first Hemingway a few months ago and have been itching to read more of his work since then.  And if his writing style is consistent from book to book, I should have no trouble finishing it despite its intimidating thickness.

IMG_8792

Are you not completely enamored with these exquisite books?  I especially adore the textured covers and author signatures that were obviously the style of the times.  The above books were published in 1948, 1963, and 1940, respectively.

IMG_8793

Kindle, schmindle.  There’s so much more satisfaction to be found in feeling the weight of a book in my hands, the distinct smell of the aged paper, the turning of pages, the tangible progress as I near the end of the story.  Give me real books any day!

And on that note, if anybody needs me…too bad.

Have you read any of these classics?  Do you still read real books or are you on the ebook train?

About Leah Davis

Hey! I'm Leah. I'm a solo traveler letting my heart lead me around the world, one country at a time. I've taught English in Thailand, climbed the Sydney Harbor Bridge, gone skydiving in Argentina, and marveled at the ruins at Machu Picchu (twice!). I love maps, strong coffee, good wine and warm climates. For even more travel talk and inspiration, you can follow my adventures on Twitter or Instagram.
This entry was posted in Aspirations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Reading List – Part II

  1. freesadieg says:

    for whom the bell tolls is one of my favorite books of all time!! These are beautiful, I’m super jealous!

  2. I’ve got a kindle that comes with me when I travel, this way I can read a few books (or more) without carrying them in my luggage. But at home? I’m with you, give me a book that I can hold, turn the pages, flip back to a previous chapter if I need to, etc. I love the weight of them too! I am going to read Perfume, had never heard of it. Currently reading “The Goldfinch.” I’m about halfway thru the 700+ page book. Happy reading!

    • LaMochilera says:

      I’m sure one day I’ll relent and jump on the Kindle wagon, it most certainly is a more reasonable way to read while traveling. I usually read a lot less on the road than I think I will though, so for now I still manage to get by just bringing one book with me that I don’t mind giving up at a hostel book exchange. That way I always have at least one, but the selection at those exchanges can be dismal!

Leave a Reply

