Emails from Abroad #4

Email response to my friend, former co-worker and #1 supporter of my travels, uhh, let’s just say his name rhymes with “Kanye.” Written from Ha Noi, Vietnam, November 25th, 2011. 

“What a wonderful surprise to find an email from you.  Quite profound as well I might add.  Thanks for writing, it’s always nice to know someone is thinking of you.

“I’ll have you know your words could not be any more true.  I’ve never felt more alive than I do right now, and I’m finding it easier as the days go by to just live in the present and appreciate where I am in life rather than dwell on where I’m supposed to end up.  My travel buddy from home has a tattoo that reads “the journey is the reward” and it inspires me to take every experience as something that will mold me into a better person (whether good or bad…and trust me, it hasn’t all been pretty).

“I hope you had a lovely thanksgiving and are still watching the Simpsons religiously…I haven’t had a good Simpsons laugh in awhile, but lucky for me all the restaurants in Thailand and Laos play continuous episodes of Family Guy or Friends, which helps keep me sane.

“Much love from Ha Noi, Vietnam!”

Homer_Quote

Follow on Bloglovin

About Leah Davis

Hey! I'm Leah. I'm a solo traveler letting my heart lead me around the world, one country at a time. I've taught English in Thailand, climbed the Sydney Harbor Bridge, gone skydiving in Argentina, and marveled at the ruins at Machu Picchu (twice!). I love maps, strong coffee, good wine and warm climates. For even more travel talk and inspiration, you can follow my adventures on Twitter or Instagram.
This entry was posted in Emails from Abroad and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment